

SWAYTHLING CLUB

Newsletter No.1 - June 2023

Executive Committee elected in Durban



President Claude Bergeret (France)



Deputy President Reto Bazzi (Switzerland)



Secretary Harvey Webb (England)



Treasurer Richard Scruton (England)



Member Gloria Wagener (Germany)



Member Lilamani de Soysa (Sri Lanka/Switzerland)



1111111111111

Member Zdenko Kríž (Slovakia)



A further term of office as President, thank you for your support; alongside my Executive Committee colleagues I am pleased to present our first newsletter. Different from the magazine, shorter in terms of pages, the focus is on items directly concerning the Swaythling Club; topics such as meetings, agreements, and most importantly local, continental and worldwide news regarding our members.

Send any items and photos that may be of interest to any member of the Executive Committee; it is your newsletter, keep us up to date! Claude Bergeret



Five Takeaways from the Annual General Meeting Friday 26th May

Petra Sörling, ITTF President, addressed the meeting. Overall, 21 members attended, 30 sent apologies for their absence. The Treasurer's report was accepted in full. Membership criteria was updated to reflect recent changes in the composition of World Championships and similar. Agreed members 80 years of age and over are no longer required to pay the annual subscription.

SWAYTHLING CLUB NEWSLETTER



Agreements signed in Durban An agreement was signed with Leandro Olvech to support the ITTF Foundation Emergency Relief Fund and the World Table Tennis for Health Congress.

A Memorandum of Understanding was signed with the International Table Tennis Federation.



Richard Bergmann Fair Play Trophy

Claude Bergeret presented the Richard Bergmann Fair Play Trophy to China's Wang Yidi at the 2023 ITTF World Championships Finals in Durban. At the quarter-final stage of the women's singles, overall, having held nine match points, she was beaten 21-19 in the seventh game by Japan's Hina Hayata. Despite desperate disappointment her behaviour was exemplary.

Diane Schöler Congratulations to Diane Schöler, on Friday 14th April, she celebrated her 90th birthday.



Local Swaythling Clubs

Sat 25th & Sun 26th March: Former champions met in Knokke at the Belgian National Championships. Present for the occasion: Romain Schalley, Alex Rosmarin, Norbert Van de Walle, Dominique Lohest, Léa Van Heybeeck, Marie-France Germiat, Kristin Van Camp, Cécile Ozer, Philippe Saive, Pierre Juliens, Frans Lankman, Jacques Denys and Jean-Michel Saive.

Sun 26th March: English members met on the final day of the National Championships in Nottingham. Present for the occasion: Alan Ransome, Don Parker, Harvey Webb, Richard Scruton. Jose Ransome, Jill Parker, Beverley Godfrey, Karen Tonge.





SWAYTHLING CLUB NEWSLETTER



Dana Cechova

New Members since December 2022

Heike Ahlert (Germany) Stefano Bosi (Italy) Dana Cechova (Czech Republic) Zuzana Demianová (Slovakia) David Edwards (England) Etsuko Enami (Japan) Laszlo Farkas (Hungary) Alejandra Gabaglio (Argentina) Paal Guttormsen (Norway) Samuel Lamount (Jamaica) Adam Lindner (Hungary) Shaun Marples (England) Pedro Miguel Moura (Portugal) Denis Neale (England) Kai Thornbech (Estonia) Iveta Vacenovská (Czech Republic) Ivan Vitsek (Hungary)

In Memoriam

December 2022 – May 2023 Heinz Guillaume (Germany) Chandra Madhosingh (Canada) Angelo Tabone (Australia) Alexander Thackerberry (Ireland) Milena Zizkova-Polackova (Czech **Republic**)

Sun 23rd April: Ross Wilson, not being able to attend the presentation ceremony at the English National Championships, received the Swaythling Club Fair Play Trophy at the Michael Hawkesworth 2023 **British Para Table Tennis** National Championships in Sheffield. The presentation was made by Karen Tonge O.B.E., Chair of British Para Table. It is the first time a Para player has won the award.





Mon 24th April: Czech Republic members met in Prague. After eight years in office, Jaroslav Stanek, now 83 years old, resigned as the national representative, he is succeeded by Zbynèk Spacek, former President of the Czech Table Tennis Association. The Swaythling Club trophy for 2022 was awarded to Marie Hrachova, women's singles semi-finalist at the Seoul 1988 Olympic Games. Additionally, gifts were presented to Blanka Silhanova -Pradova, Zdenek Remes and Hana Valentova.

Sun 30th April: Alex Rosmarin, Pierre **Juliens and Frans** Lanckman, visited Belgian colleague, André Damman, Personal Honorary Member of the International Table Tennis Federation. André is now 92 years old.



SWAYTHLING CLUB NEWSLETTER

Date for the diary, the World Parkinson's Championships will be staged in Crete from Wednesday 1st to Sunday 5th November as part of the WTT4H Festival.

Contact: Executive Committee

President: Claude Bergeret: claude.bergeret@fftt.email Deputy President: Reto Bazzi: barttconsult@windowslive.com Treasurer: Richard Scruton: richardofyork187@outlook.com Secretary: Harvey Webb: harveywebb17@gmail.com Members: Lilamani de Soysa: lilamanidesoysa@gmail.com Zdenko Kríž: kriz@olympic.sk

Gloria Wagener: gloriawagsci67@web.de

Contributors

Reto Bazzi, Claude Bergeret, Pierre Juliens, Jaroslav Stanek, Karen Tonge, Gloria Wagener, Harvey Webb

Photos

Malcolm Anderson, Rémy Gros, Helena Houdkova, Pierre Juliens, Richard Kalocsai, Chris Rayner, Mike Rhodes, Diane Webb, World Table Tennis

